Let Me Be a Woman – Elisabeth Elliot

“When two people are living in love, they operate on the assumption that love is at the bottom of whatever treatment they get. This eliminates a lot of potential hurts…Love is not touchy. Love gives the benefit of the doubt.” –Elisabeth Elliot

I just finished reading Mrs. Elliot’s Let Me Be a Woman. She had such a gift for expressing Scriptural truth in a loving, yet unshakable way. I’m glad I waited until I was married before reading it–it is, after all, addressed to her daughter who was to be married in a few weeks, and I probably would have been embarrassed reading it as a young girl, when I read several of Elisabeth’s other books. But reading it now, I have been greatly challenged to see and act out the beauty of submission to my husband. Build up before you criticize, she reminds us. Joyfully act out your role in displaying the church’s relationship to Christ. 

I also love this quote from earlier in the book (the first paragraph of chapter 15): 

“We are called to be women. The fact that I am a woman does not make me a different kind of Christian, but the fact that I am a Christian does make me a different kind of woman. For I have accepted God’s idea of me, and my whole life is an offering back to him of all that I am and all that he wants me to be.”

Leave a Reply

