Quote of the Week: Frances Havergal

I had never even heard Frances Havergal’s most famous hymn until after I read her biography. I had just stumbled across the book the summer before my senior year of college in a list of free Christian biographies that had been scanned by volunteers after they went into the public domain, and I decided to read it. (If you’re interested in downloading the biography, HERE is the link.)  In its pages, I was introduced to Miss Havergal’s beautiful hymn, “Take My Life and Let it Be.” Her life was shaped by her own hymn, as the Lord continued to further sanctify her and cleanse her of selfishness.

Here are the words of the hymn:

  1. Take my life and let it be
    Consecrated, Lord, to Thee.
    *Take my moments and my days,
    Let them flow in endless praise.
  2. Take my hands and let them move
    At the impulse of Thy love.
    Take my feet and let them be
    Swift and beautiful for Thee.
  3. Take my voice and let me sing,
    Always, only for my King.
    Take my lips and let them be
    Filled with messages from Thee.
  4. Take my silver and my gold,
    Not a mite would I withhold.
    Take my intellect and use
    Every pow’r as Thou shalt choose.
  5. Take my will and make it Thine,
    It shall be no longer mine.
    Take my heart, it is Thine own,
    It shall be Thy royal throne.
  6. Take my love, my Lord, I pour
    At Thy feet its treasure store.
    Take myself and I will be
    Ever, only, all for Thee.
And here is a beautiful quote from Miss Havergal:
havergal
Leave a Reply

