Quote of the Week: Christina Rossetti


How I long for those words to describe my life! Have my eyes gazed upon Christ? Have I come away changed? Have my feet followed in His steps and my hands done His work? Have my lips “spread abroad his name?” I want to count my life and everything in it as loss compared to the treasure of knowing Christ!

“Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ,” said the apostle Paul in Philippians 3:8. (ESV) And he knew what he was talking about!

Christina Rossetti was a Victorian poet, born to Italian political exiles in London. She never married, partly because she believed one of her suitors didn’t really have faith in God.

These words of hers sound very scriptural. They were most likely inspired by these words from Isaiah:

“How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him that bringeth good tidings, that publisheth peace; that bringeth good tidings of good, that publisheth salvation; that saith unto Zion, Thy God reigneth!” Isaiah 52:7 KJV

Leave a Reply

